Coaching & Management Vésteinn Hafsteinsson RSS

Subscribe to our newsletter

GT Management

"How to Become an Olympic Champion" is a video series by coach Vésteinn Hafsteinsson on example of Discus Throw legend Gerd Kanter. The first video series puts focus on Olympic Lifting for Throwers. Click here for more info.


You are here

Simon throws a new personal best

Simon Pettersson competed today in the OTC-CV Elite #1 at the Olympic Training Center in Chula Vista. Simon got 3rd place in the competition out of 13 throwers competing in the B Group in the discus throw. Simon threw a new PB of 57.98m coming in the fourth round of the competition. In the last throw he also had 55.66m that was also farther than his previous PB.

His previous best was 55.39m since last year so this is a considerable improvement for Simon. In this meet last year he also had a new PB that measured 53.36m then. During the week Simon has being doing really well and threw a practice PB of 59.60m. That throw in practice was better than this today. Simon did not really throw that well even if he hit this big PB so for sure there is much more to come from him later on when he can combine added speed and power into his technique in the throw.

Heidi Schmidt competed also in the meet and was unlucky and did not hit any throw out of the three she got and only had around 49-50m. After her sickness last week Heidi actually threw really well in practice but just did not have it today, but it will for sure come soon.

Congratulations to Simon Pettersson on his new PB.




European Shot Put Conference takes place in Tallinn, Estonia from 8-10 November 2019 and will be highlighted by lectures and practical demonstrations from some of the most renowned athletes and coaches associated with the event. Click here for programme and registration info.


Our athletes in 2019

1 Daniel Stahl 71.86m
2 Simon Pettersson 66.39m
3 Martin Kupper 65.30m
4 Nick Percy 62.09m
5 Niklas Arrhenius 62.02m
6 J Gardenkrans 59.50m
7 Mesud Pezer 57.31m
8 Marcus Thomsen 48.55m
1 Fanny Roos 56.89m
1 Mesud Pezer 21.48m
2 Kristo Galeta 20.76m
3 Marcus Thomsen 20.59m
4 Niklas Arrhenius 18.73m
1 Fanny Roos 19.06m
1 Nick Percy 20.52m