Coaching & Management Vésteinn Hafsteinsson RSS

Subscribe to our newsletter

GT Management

"How to Become an Olympic Champion" is a video series by coach Vésteinn Hafsteinsson on example of Discus Throw legend Gerd Kanter. The first video series puts focus on Olympic Lifting for Throwers. Click here for more info.


You are here

Andrei Mikhnevich results annulled - overview of the medal changes

The case of Andrei Mikhnevich (BLR) which followed the IAAF’s re-testing of a selection of doping samples collected at the 2005 IAAF World Championships, Helsinki, Finland has now concluded with the sanction of ‘Lifetime ineligibility as from 26.12.12’.

The results of Andrei Mikhnevich results are annulled from August 2005.

At a global IAAF championship level, Mikhnevich was the silver medallist at the IAAF World Indoor Championships in 2006 and 2010, and the bronze medallist at the 2007 and 2011 IAAF World Championships.

Former Global Throwing member Joachim B. Olsen will change his Bronze from World Indoor Championships in Moscow 2006 to Silver. Also congratulations to new medallists Christian Cantwell, Dylan Armstrong, Rutger Smith and Pavel Sofin.

The revised results for top-three medal positions are as follows:
2006 World Indoor Championships:
1. Reese Hoffa USA 22.11
2. Joachim B. Olsen DEN 21.16
3. Pavel Sofin RUS 20.68

2007 World Championships:
1. Reese Hoffa USA 22.04
2. Adam Nelson USA 21.61
3. Rutger Smith NED 21.13

2010 World Indoor Championships:
1. Christian Cantwell USA 21.83
2. Ralf Bartels GER 21.44
3. Dylan Armstrong CAN 21.39

2011 World Championships:
1. David Storl GER 21.78
2. Dylan Armstrong CAN 21.64
3. Christian Cantwell USA 21.36

Case of Athens 2004
Adam Nelson posted a picture on Wednesday together with the Gold medal from Athens. His comment - Thank you to USATF, USOC, IOC, and Ukraine for making this right.  Today, the gold came home.


European Shot Put Conference takes place in Tallinn, Estonia from 8-10 November 2019 and will be highlighted by lectures and practical demonstrations from some of the most renowned athletes and coaches associated with the event. Click here for programme and registration info.


Our athletes in 2019

1 Daniel Stahl 70.56m
2 Martin Kupper 62.11m
3 Nick Percy 62.09m
4 J Gardenkrans 57.34m
1 Mesud Pezer 21.08m
2 Marcus Thomsen 20.58m
3 Niklas Arrhenius 18.20m
1 Fanny Roos 18.61m
1 Nick Percy 20.52m