Coaching & Management Vésteinn Hafsteinsson RSS

Subscribe to our newsletter

GT Management

You are here

Virgilijus Alekna ends his career

One of the greatest ever announced his retirement before the Diamond League meet in Brussels yesterday. Virgilijus Alekna has decided to stop throwing, he will be missed.

I first remember Alekna when he was very young or around 20 years old or so and I met him twice in the European Cup in 1993 and 1994 and right then I could see the potential. In 1995 he had a breakthrough year and just exploded towards the world class level.

During his career he did this:

  • Gold 2000 Sydney
  • Gold 2004 Athens
  • Bronze 2008 Beijing


  • Silver 1997 Athens
  • Silver 2001 Edmonton
  • Gold 2003 Paris
  • Gold 2005 Helsinki


  • Bronze 1998 Budapest
  • Silver 2002 Munich
  • Gold 2006 Gothenburg


56 competitions over 69m
100 competitions over 68m
144 competitions over 67m
224 competitions over 65m

    • His 100th best competition average is 69.28m, 10 best result averages is 71.30m
    • Virgilijus Alekna has competed in 19 consecutive major championships (5x OG, 9xWC and 5xEC) in 1994-2012, he has won 10 medals.
    • He won IAAF World Athletics final 4 times.
    • Alekna is oldest thrower, who has thrown over 70m (70.28m in 2012, 40 years old)
    • He has most competitions over 70m - 20 competitions
    • Men's Track & Field News Athlete of the Year 2000
    • Men's European Athlete of the Year 2005
    • Best Lithuanian sportsman of the Year 2000, 2004, 2005, 2006
    • Flag bearer for Lithuania London OG 2012


THANKS for the memories Virgilijus Alekna and good luck to you in the future.



"How to Become an Olympic Champion" is a video series by coach Vésteinn Hafsteinsson on example of Discus Throw legend Gerd Kanter. The first video series puts focus on Olympic Lifting for Throwers. Click here for more info.


Our athletes in 2018

1 Mesud Pezer 21.15m
2 Marcus Thomsen 19.82m
3 Leif Arrhenius 19.25m
4 Daniel Stahl 18.78m
5 Niklas Arrhenius 18.37m
6 Simon Pettersson 17.50m
7 J. Gardenkrans 16.06m
1 Fanny Roos 18.68m
1 Daniel Stahl 69.72m
2 Simon Pettersson 65.84m
3 J. Gardenkrans 63.63m
4 Nick Percy 63.17m
5 Niklas Arrhenius 61.72m
6 Mesud Pezer 59.42m
1 Fanny Roos 55.79m