Coaching & Management Vésteinn Hafsteinsson RSS

Subscribe to our newsletter

GT Management

"How to Become an Olympic Champion" is a video series by coach Vésteinn Hafsteinsson on example of Discus Throw legend Gerd Kanter. The first video series puts focus on Olympic Lifting for Throwers. Click here for more info.


You are here

European Discus and Hammer Conference will be hosted in Växjo, Sweden

In response to the demand from coaches for practice-oriented conferences focused on a small number of disciplines, European Athletics launched its Coaching Summit Series in 2008. On November 16-18th European Discus and Hammer Conference will be held in Växjo, Sweden. 

The programme of Discus and Hammer summit in Växjo includes presentations, practical demonstrations, small group workshops, round table discussions and plenty of opportunities for the participants to discuss all aspects of their event with colleagues and stars from around the world.

Main speakers Vesteinn Hafsteinsson (discus) and Tore Gustafsson (hammer) will present how they work - Technical Training in their respective events using athletes as models and Strength Training for their events in the gym in a practical session. Also Technical Theory and Planning the Training for the Discus and Hammer.

Other presenters are:
 - Olympic and World Champion Szymon Ziółkowski who will open the secrets of his trainings over the successful career
 - Jérôme Simian, will talk about the training of French discus star Mélina Robert-Michon throughout her career
 - Shaun Pickering will cover the results of biomechanical testing and findings at the 2017 World Championships in the discus and hammer
 - Jesper Augustsson from Linneus University will cover the recent findings in the area of strenght training related to throwing events

Check full timetable from here

How much does it cost and where you can register?
Check conference website


World class lectures in throwing events! More info here.

Our athletes in 2020

1 Daniel Ståhl 71.37m  
2 Simon Pettersson 67.72m  
3 Niklas Arrhenius 66.46m  
4 S. M. Skagestad 63.35m  
5 Nick Percy 63.02m  
6 J. Gardenkrans 60.40m  
1 Fanny Roos 55.33m  
2 Daniella Persson 50.97m  
1 Marcus Thomsen 21.03m  
2 S. M. Skagestad 17.15m  
1 Fanny Roos 18.77m